Stewpot Community Services needs your help to keep Matt’s Emergency Shelter for Women and Children and Brumfield Emergency Shelter for Men open in 2015. These 2 shelters serve 70-80 homeless people each day and we want to help keep them off the street. We have requested the Jackson City Council and the Hinds County Board of Supervisors, each, contract with Stewpot for $100,000 to replace lost Federal and United Way grant funds to keep these shelters open. What can you do? Below is a list of the Councilman and Supervisors and their contact information who decides whether this contract will be granted. Please call or e-mail them to tell them you want to keep these shelters open. 

Hinds County Supervisors

District 1 Darrel McQuirter 601-973-5552 dmcquirter@cohinds.ms.us
District 2 Robert Graham 601-714-6219 rgraham@cohinds.ms.us
District 3 Peggy Hobson-Calhoun, 601-968-6768 phobson@cohinds.ms.us
District 4 Tony Greer 601-857-2622 tgreer@cohinds.ms.us
District 5 Kenneth Stokes 601-714-6218 601-973-5525 kstokes@cohinds.ms.us

Jackson City Council

Ward 1 Quentin Whitwell 601-960-2051 qwhitwell@city.jackson.ms.us
Ward 2 Melvin Priester, Jr. 601-960-1091 mpriester@city.jackson.ms.us
Ward 3 Larita Cooper-Stokes 601-960-1090 Lcooperstokes@city.jackson.ms.us
Ward 4 Dekeither Stamps 601-960-2052 dstamps@city.jackson.ms.us
Ward 5 Charles Tillman 601-960-1092 ctillman@city.jackson.ms.us
Ward 6 Tyrone Hendrix 601-960-1092 thendrix@city.jackson.ms.us
Ward 7 Margaret Barrett-Simone 601960-1063 mbarrett@city.jackson.ms.us